Black Sea Universities Network                              
Login:     Pass:
Language: ENG | RUS                



The Black Sea Universities Network (BSUN) has been established based on the recommendation of the PABSEC Cultural, Education and Social Affairs Committee during the session held in Bucharest in August 1997.
Following the PABSEC recommendations, this network was established in 1998 in Constantza during the 2nd Conference of Rectors from the Black Sea Region. The idea of the network has been welcomed with enthusiasm by the Academic Community of the Region and it has been developed, including nowadays over 100 universities from the 12 member countries of the Economic Cooperation from the Black Sea Region (BSEC) - Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Russian Federation, Turkey and  Ukraine.
According to the BSUN Statute, the Decision Body of the Network is represented by the General Assembly - Conference of Rectors from the Black Sea Region including the rectors of the member Universities. 
In the period between the sessions of the Conference of Rectors, the BSUN is coordinated by the Presidential Troika, together with the Executive Board, which consists on a board of representative rectors from each member country.
The President in office is elected for a 2 years mandate and assures the implementation of the framework-program established by the General Assembly.
The BSUN activity is monitored by the International Permanent Secretariat of the network. As a recognition of the Romanian contribution, the IPS-BSUN is hosted by the „Ovidius” University of Constantza. In order to achieve its objectives, IPS cooperates with the National Secretariats.
Between 1998-2000, President of the BSUN was Prof. Adrian Bavaru, Rector of „Ovidius” University of Constantza; between 2000-2002, the position was held by Prof. Suha Sevuk - Rector of the Middle East Technical University, Ankara; between 2002-2004 the position was held by Prof. Abel Maharramov, Rector of the Baku State University - Azerbaijan, between 2004-2006 the position was held by Acad. Ioan Bostan, Rector of Technical University of Moldova, between  2008-2010 the position was held by Prof. Mychailo Zgurovsky, Rector of the National Technical University, „KPI”- Kiev.
The Conference of Rectors from the Black Sea Region, held during the BSUN Congress from Moscow (23-24 April 2010), Prof. Dimitry Livanov, Rector of National University of Science & Technology “MISIS”, Moskow was elected as President of BSUN.

smoking cessation champix

In May, 2012, the Conference of Rectors, organized in Tirana, durind the Forum on "Academic Cooperation for Peace and Welfare in the Mediterranean and Black Sea Region" (16-19 May, 2012), Acad. Jorgaq Kacani, Rector of Polytechnic University of Tirana was elected President of BSUN for the period 2012-2014.

Members of the BSUN

Presidential Troika

BSUN President in Office
Prof. Pericles A. Mitkas
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Prof. Giga Zedania
Ilia State University, Georgia

Dr. Armen Der Kiureghian
American University of Armenia

Members Events


Organized by
June 20, 2019
More details

International Summer School "Sustainable Development Goals"

Organized by
July 14, 2018
More details